1. Mooladhara chakra:

    The word means, ‘root support of life’. It refers to the instinctive animal urges that is responsible for all human life. These urges are that of food, shelter, sleep, survival and procreation.


In the center of the perineum between the anus and the sex organ. Kundalini which gives power and energy to all the chakras lie at this chakra. It lies just below the kanda and the junction where Ida, Pingala and Sushumna meet.

1. The energy here is responsible for all the instinctive animal urges in man like eating, sleeping, mating, shelter and survival.

  1. Basic emotion of this chakra is fear. Basic clue to a condition of imbalance is a feeling of insecurity. When the energy in this center is weak (Tamasic) or over active (Rajasic) then these instinctive functions become irregular and imbalanced. When the energy is pure (Sattwic) the functions are healthy and balanced.
  2. The source of apana vayu is mooladhara chakra. The large intestine (caecum, colon, rectum), the anal region, anal sphincters, the kidneys, the ureters, the urinary bladder the urethra the expiratory organs of the respiratory system and the sweat glands, the discharges of menstrual fluid, vaginal secretions and ejaculation are all regulated by the apana vayu. This chakra is therefore physically related to all excretory, urinary and sexual activities.


  • This chakra has 4 red petals. The petals refer to the nadis. It means 4 nadis emerge from this place distributing energy in the adjoining area. Each nadi produces a subtle vibration giving rise to a particular sound and these sounds constitutes the Sanskrit alphabets. The sounds are Vam, Sham, Ksham, Sam. Pronounced for purpose of chakra activation as Vang, Shang, Kshang, Sang.
  • The Bija sound is Lam or Lang. The sound vibrates the palate and the cranium. When properly intoned it activates the nadis of the chakra and creates a lock that closes the downward movement of the prana Vibration in the cranium makes the energy move up. Verbal or mental repetition of this sound activates the chakra. Vehicle (Vahana) of the bija is elephant with seven trunks. ‘ Indra’s Airavata’
  • Brahma granthi is located here.
  • Presiding Deities- Brahma (Lord of creation) and Dakini. Lord Ganesha is seated here guarding the entrance to the Brahmadwara. He is the astral deity, or angel or God’s power that allows mind, prana and kundalini energy (Shakti) to move up the sushumna.
  • Plane – Bhuloka; Element – Earth ; Planet –Mars.
  • Sense organs –Nose and Anus.
  • Yantra –yellow square.
  • Behavior- Normally a child from the ages of one to seven acts out of this chakra motivations. Security is the primary concern. All the passions are stored in the mooladhara, all the guilt, our lower samskaras and karmas are embedded here. All schizophrenics and neurotics have a very impure mooladhara chakra. Basic motivation is to satisfy the basic animal instinctive urges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *